CHU Brugmann UVC Education in CHU Brugmann

>>Bone scintigraphy

Bone scintigraphyBone scintigraphy is commonly used to search for bone metastases of several neoplasms. Since it is highly sensitive, it will frequently be the first sign of a skeleton involvement by the malignant disease. On the other hand, it can be be used to diagnose primary bone tumors. However, these occur mainly in children and young adults. In case of metabolic bone disorders, several typical signs make the bone scintigraphy highly characteristic (image of superscan).

In case of vascular disorders, three phase bone scan including vascular dynamic injection, followed by a blood pool phase and finally static images gives essential information regarding vascular condition of an involved limb, the presence of inflammation and an eventual algodystrophy, which is a frequent complication of several injuries. Moreover, since radiographs do not always clearly demonstrate a site of fracture, an injury due to the practice of sport, or a prosthesis breaking, the high sensitivity of bone scintigraphy can also be helpful in these circumstances.

Finally, tracers, as Gallium, labelled white blood cells and human immunoglobulins are useful to diagnose inflammation, infection and contribute to the differential diagnosis between arthritis and inflammatory bone diseases. Some tracers as Ytrium can also be used for the treatment of inflammatory joint diseases.


Time between tracer injection and bone scintigraphy is +/-3 hours. Bone uptake is maximal after 2 hours. Time between injection and scintigraphy should be at least 2 hours.

Since unbound radiopharmaceutical is excreted by the kidney, to minimize radiation to the bladder, the patient should be encouraged to drink fluids. He should void before initiating the scan, procedure to allow good visualization of the pelvis.

In case of unability to void, views of the pelvis can be non diagnostic and late images (up to 24 hours) can be mandatory.


  • Biphosphonates labelled with 99mTc (99m Technetium) are most widely used : adult dose = 740MBq (20 mCi).
  • Hydroxyethylidene diphosphonate (EHDP).
  • Methylene dihosphonate (MDP).
  • Hydroxymethylene diphosphonate (HMDP).

Alternative agents :

  • 67 Ga (67 Gallium), labelled leucocytes, human immunoglobulins, to look for inflammation or infection, when bone scintigraphy is positive.

Documents in PDF format :

>>Functional imaging atlas in nuclear medicine.

Photo CHUB
FRNLEN

>>Scintigraphie osseuse

Scintigraphie osseuseLa scintigraphie osseuse est fréquemment utilisée pour la recherche de métastases de diverses néoplasies. Vu sa haute sensibilité, elle est fréquement le premier signe d’un envahissement du squelette par le cancer. D’autre part, elle peut être utilisée pour diagnostiquer des tumeurs osseuses primitives. Cependant, celles-ci se développent principalement chez l’enfant et l’adulte jeune.

En cas de maladie du métabolisme osseux, plusieurs signes typiques rendent la scintigraphie hautement caractéristique (image de « superscan »).

En cas de problème vasculaire, une scintigraphie osseuse trois phases incluant une phase vasculaire dynamique, suivie d’une phase de plateau (pool) et enfin une phase statique apportent une information essentielle concernant la vascularisation d’un membre pathologique, la présence d’une éventuelle inflammation et enfin celle d’une algodystrophie, complication fréquente de nombreux traumatismes. De plus, la radiographie ne démontrant pas toujours de manière claire la présence d’une fracture, d’un traumatisme dû au sport ou d’un déscellement de prothèse, la haute sensibilité de la scintigraphie osseuse est également utile en ces circonstances.

Enfin, des traceurs tels que le Gallium, les globules blancs marqués et les immunoglobulines humaines sont utiles dans la démonstration des processus inflammatoires, infectieux et permettent aussi le diagnostic différentiel entre arthrose et arthropathie inflammatoire. Certains traceurs, tel l’Ytrium peuvent aussi être utilisés dans la thérapie des pathologies articulaires inflammatoires.

Précautions

Le temps entre l’injection et la scintigraphie osseuse est de +/- 3heures.
La captation osseuse est maximale après deux heures. Le temps entre l’injection et la scintigraphie doit être au minimum de deux heures.

Le radiopharmaceutique est excrété par le rein, aussi, pour minimiser l’irradiation de la vessie, le patient est prié de boire abondamment. Pour bien visualiser la région du bassin, il est invité à uriner avant l’examen.

Radiopharmaceutiques

  • Les biphosphonates marqués au 99mTc (99m Technetium) sont les plus utilisés. La dose d'énergie délivrée au patient adulte est de 740 MBq (20 mCi).
  • Hydroxyethylene diphosphonate (EHDP).
  • Methylene diphosphonate.
  • Hydroxymethylene diphosphonate.

Agents alternatifs :

  • 67 Ga (67 Gallium), leucocytes marques, immunoglubulines humaines, traceurs utilises pour l’inflammation et l’infection, quand la scintigraphie osseuse standard est positive.

Documents au format PDF :

>>Atlas de l’imagerie fonctionnelle en médecine nucléaire.